Delhi Daredevils Finally Taste Victory in IPL 8; End Defeats’ Streak against Kings XI Punjab

April 16 12:39 2015

dd1New Delhi, Thursday, April 16 – After 11 consecutive defeats, Delhi Daredevils finally opened their account with a victory in a match played against Kings XI Punjab on Wednesday at Maharashtra Cricket Association Cricket Stadium, Pune. Since none of teams had the advantage of playing at home yesterday, fans supported both  DD and KXIP whenever wickets were taken, shots were hit and during the demonstration of brilliant fielding.

While batting first after winning the toss, the men in red caps looked strong. Despite losing first wicket early in the form of Murali Vijay (19 runs of 18 balls; 4 x 2 and 6 x 1), Kings XI Punjab managed to put pressure on Delhi Daredevils that were striving to taste success from a long time. Viewers were excited to see Virender Sehwag hitting the familiar shots in different corners of the ground as he would do at the peak of his career. With wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha, he took KXIP on a robust position. The 30-year-old Siliguri born boy spellbound audience by hitting three biggies and playing a knock of 39 runs off 28 balls before succumbing to Amit Mishra in the final ball of 14th over. This breakthrough was important and changed the match to a great extent. Soon after Saha’s dismissal, Sehwag fell short to JP Duminy, who also sent David Miller (5 runs) back to the pavilion.

Rest of the job was done by Imran Tahir who slowed the pace of Kings XI Punjab’s to accumulate runs by taking crucial wickets of Glenn Maxwell, captain George Bailey and Axar Patel at the scores of 15, 19 and 13 runs, respectively. Maxwell’s wicket could be said a game changing moment for Delhi Daredevils when Manoj Tiwary did no mistake to take a brilliant catch since the right-handed batsman hit two sixes in his small innings. Rishi Dhawan was not out at 0. With 8 extras, Bailey’s squad was able to put a challenging total of 165 runs on the scoreboard. 10 sixes and 7 boundaries were hit by KXIP.

Chasing did not seem a cake walk for Delhi Daredevils given Sandeep Sharma gave them an early jolt by ending Shreyas Iyer’s play at 6 runs. DD skipper JP Duminy turned a run out victim when Patel demonstrated an excellent piece of fielding and promptly using his mind. Losing Duminy was unfortunate as he was leading his men on the path of success. His 21-run knock comprised 3 boundaries. But then Yuvraj Singh arrived on the crease to lend a hand to  the opener Mayank Agarwal, who was eying a robust partnership. Singh gained his form and confidence back by exhibiting 55-run innings in 39 balls; 4 x 5 and 6 x 3. All was going well until Anureet Singh earned Yuvraj’s wicket. The all-rounder gave DD another shock by allowing Agarwal, who scored 68 runs with the help of seven 4s and a couple of sixes to go back to the dressing room, on the next ball.

If truth be told, DD supporters thought Duminy’s men will once again face another defeat at the hands of Kings XI Punjab. Kedar Jadhav’s wicket at 3 runs added to the apprehensions. The threat of defeat loomed more the moment Angelo Mathews failed to take a single. But thanks to Yuvraj and Mayank’s efforts to set a base for DD to win, enough balls were remained to achieve the target. Post equalizing the score, Mathews struck a boundary, letting his teammates heave a sigh of relief and end the series of 11 defeats in a row. Manoj Tiwary was unbeaten at 0. It is the first triumph for DD which will certainly boost players’ confidence in the upcoming contests against different teams. Mitchell Johnson, one of the best bowlers of the world at present, did not get any wicket. In fact, the rivals felt immense ease playing him. In his 4 over stint, DD players scored 43 runs, making Johnson most expensive bowler of the day.

All in all, DD might turn dangerous from this spot as they looked forward to a victory from a long time. None knows what happens next in the cricket, which is a game full of uncertainties. Sunrisers Hyderabad will take on Rajasthan Royals in today’s competition that will take place at ACA-VDCA Stadium, Visakhapatnam. Rise and fall in position in the points’ table will be a common scenario in the upcoming days since all eight participating playing XIs are set to put their best foot forward.

view more articles

About Article Author